My HPU Apiary Project

Bee related information that doesnt fit any where else

Moderators: Jacobs, Wally

elizabeth.pruitt

My HPU Apiary Project

Post by elizabeth.pruitt »

Good Evening All,
Most of you do not know me, and the few of your that do probably don't remember by name. My name is Elizabeth Pruitt, and I have only recently begun my involvement with the Guilford County Beekeepers Association as well as NC State. I attend the Thursday meetings for the Beekeeping Class, and will try to make the Tuesday member's meeting as well. This was just my introduction to the community, below is the reason for my post:

I am a student at High Point University, and have taken steps to become involved with this wonderful community for two reason. First is a purely personal desire for beekeeping education and to create friendly connections, the other is for a current project that I am working on. From now until April 15th, I am attempting to build from scratch my own functional Langstroth/Observational hive hybrid to implemented on my college campus, with an artistic spin. This entire project will be documented digitally with photos and other multimedia, where I will go on to provide a presentation across the state and possibly beyond. I hope to bring enlightenment to viewers by not only sharing the importance of the honey bee and the ease of with they can be kept, but encourage others to do as I have done; to become beekeepers themselves and have an involved role in their community at large. I would be happy to answer any questions about my project in depth for those of you that are curious.